top of page
Search
  • Trudy Doleman

A New Will


Rejoice Wonderful Women! It’s Wednesday,

It is that time of the week when we simply stop. Just breathe. Come on, that is all you need to do. As you inhale gather all of the thoughts, distractions and anything else that has caused you to wonder or pause in a moment of frustration. Hold on to them for a minute-one last time. If some of those things still create a sense of frustration, it is important to be finished with it and let it go. They are the weights that so… if you just finished my sentence then you know why it is time to let them go. Now slowly let out your breath, pushing the issues away from you. Let’s take another breath, this time we are gathering up all of the missed opportunities, guilty feelings, and don’t forget to grab your Immas (Immadothis, Immadothat when…time to be determined) as well, hold onto them for one more minute. Feeling heavy, feeling uncomfortable? Now you know why it has been hard to push through. Those thoughts and feelings take up a lot of head and heart space. Now slowly let out your breath. As you let go of the little foxes of frustration honestly answer these questions, what was my responsibility? Did I do all that I could? Include the question “what were my motives and or purpose?”

One last time, take a deep breath and this time gather up forgiveness, courage, new awareness, and a new will. As you let this cleansing breath out slowly, feel the energy that is happening as the oxygen rejuvenates your body, mind and spirit. As you forgive accept forgiveness. Make amends where it is logical and possible for not holding up your end of things. Now is the time to walk away from any motive that is not positive and fruitful. Take this time to reconnect with your true purpose. We often pray not my will but thy will be done. We hear the statement look past me and see the God in me. Consider what those statements mean. To be clear neither statement can logically be used as a free pass to not grow.

Not my will but Your will goes beyond surrender or submission. It is an exchange of our motives for His purpose. It is what happens when we exchange our destination plans for His journey to destiny. As we go through the exchange process we begin to think differently. We see things from a different perspective. We become more sensitive. I began to think about the word will recently as I listened to the song Abba by Ed Cash and Johnathan David Hessler. For me, it is a beautiful love song about growth and change. The worshiper is in complete adoration of God.

A portion of the song declares: Your thoughts define me. You’re inside me. You’re my reality. Think about those three statements. How could that happen except we give up our will for His? If His thoughts define, we have to give up the thoughts that separate us from Him. Some of you might ask “well what am I supposed to think about then?” Paul gives us a list of specific categories in Philippians chapter 4 verses 8-9. As you meditate on these subjects you will get to a place that you will not want to dwell on past mistakes, sorrows and unfinished business for too long. Wonderful Women here is where your celebration can begin! True enough some things happened in your life but you cannot languish by the pool any longer because the reality, your reality, is God has brought you to a new place. You are a better person; you have earned every smile, every tear, and praise.

The peace of God shines from the inside out; as you accept God’s truth, you accept the fact that you have been uniquely designed by Him and will no longer need to say things like “God knows my heart” or “He knows who I am, He made me!” because as you exchange your will for His, those self-involved disclaimers and others like them are replaced with a statement of the heart, He in me and I in Him. John 14:4-6 (NKJV)

Encourage another Wonderful Woman to celebrate one of her many good qualities. Better yet, celebrate with her!

It’s all ‘bout love,

Trudy

John. (n.d.). Retrieved September 6, 2018, from https://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=John 15:4-6&version=NKJV

Jonathan David Helser- Abba (Katelyn Read & Worship Band ... [Advertisement]. (n.d.). Retrieved June 27, 2018, from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=61QHTUK19zY


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

M.O.M? Yes! ​

Rejoice Wonderful Women! It is Wednesday, It is time, our time, to re-charge, affirm one of our good qualities and to give thanks, praise and what is a proper party without worship? I mean…Dad. Am I r

bottom of page